Please put any special instructions for our driver into the order notes. Thank you for your patience while we unroll this program!
Cart 0

The State of Δ8-THC

Bold, capitalized text reads, "The State of Delta 8-THC". To the right is a graphic representation of a legal document. To the right of that is a picture of a wooden gavel.

If you have attempted to purchase Δ8-THC products from us recently, whether in-store or online, you may have come across the news that we are no longer allowed to sell Δ8-THC at our Connecticut storefront.

Why has this changed? How can I legally purchase Δ8-THC?

Don’t worry! This article is here to answer any questions you may have about these recent changes.

The State of Δ8-THC

As we mentioned in a previous article, the legal status of Δ8-THC is currently changing all across the United States. It can be hard to keep track of the laws regulating Δ8-THC when they vary from state to state. On top of that, many states are creating laws to clarify the legal status of Δ8-THC. The state of Connecticut has followed suit with a recreational cannabis law that includes a new legal definition of cannabis.

Connecticut’s Law 1

On June 22nd, 2021 S.B. 1201 – An Act Concerning Responsible and Equitable Regulation of Adult-Use Cannabis was signed into law by Governor Lamont. Nine days later, on July 1st, 2021, it became legal for those 21 years of age or older to possess cannabis in the state of Connecticut.

There are, of course, some limits. If you are looking for an in-depth, point-by-point breakdown of S.B. 1201, the Marijuana Policy Project has a fantastic article. You can find it here.

The simple breakdown is that, as of July 1st, 2021, those 21 years of age or older are now allowed to possess:

  • Up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis on their person.
  • Up to 5 ounces of cannabis in a locked container within their residence, glove box, or trunk.
  • Cannabis paraphernalia, such as bowls, bongs, grinders, ect.

S.B. 1201 defines “THC” as:

“‘THC’ means tetrahydrocannabinol, including, but not limited to, delta-7, delta-8-tetrahydrocannabinol, delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol and delta-10-tetrahydrocannabinol, and any material, compound, mixture or preparation which contain their salts, isomers and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers and salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation, regardless of the source...”

How Can I Purchase Δ8-THC?

S.B. 1201 means that only dispensaries will be legally allowed to sell Δ8-THC.

While we are no longer able to sell Δ8-THC products in-store, you can continue to purchase all of the Δ8-THC products that you love through our online store

All online orders will be shipped directly to you from our out-of-state warehouse.

Due to Δ8-THC being either illegal or not explicitly legal according to state laws, we will not ship products that contain Δ8-THC to the following states2:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah
  • Vermont

1  S.B. 1201, An Act Concerning Responsible and Equitable Regulation of Adult-Use Cannabis, 2021 Spec. Sess. 2021 (CT. 2021).

2 If your state laws have been recently updated or you feel there is language supporting any product’s legality in your state, please reach out to us at with excerpts from the bill supporting your case, as well as links to the full-text versions of your state laws for our review.

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published